Spread the Word to End the Word: A Powerful Message from YLC Member, Andre Williams

STW-Un-Dated-Dark

As everyone knows, March is Best Buddies Month. Best Buddies Month is a month where Best Buddies comes in to play. Not only is March Best Buddies month, but it’s also Spread the Word to End the Word month. Now, in my speech below, you will understand how much this campaign means to me. This campaign will not only make you realize how much this word hurts me, but it also make you realize that this word should not be used in your daily lives.

My name is Andre Williams.  I’m the co-Buddy Director of my chapter, I’m from Somerville, and if there’s one interesting fact about me, I know all the capitals in the world. But enough about me.  I’m here to talk to you guys and girls about why we are here. It’s about a campaign near and dear to me: Spread the Word to End the Word. This is a national campaign which helps limit the derogatory use of the R-word, or “Retarded.” Every time I hear it, it makes me mad.

People with disabilities have come a long way, and to hear a word like that only makes them feel not accepted. This campaign, which started back in 2009, had come a long way.  I feel that once people learn how much the R-word hurts someone, then they can remove that word from their vocabulary. It’s about spreading RESPECT.

I hope you all understand how hurtful this word is and why you should never EVER use the word in your daily lives. I also hope this speech changes you. I worked really hard on this speech and I hope it made you realize how much the R-word hurts. I would like to end the speech by saying don’t say things that can harm one another.  We were born to love one another and to accept different abilities.  And never dwell on the negative, focus on the positive.

Thank you.

Andre Williams
Best Buddies Young Leaders Council Member

aw

To show your support by pledging to end the R-word, please visit www.r-word.org. Together, we can make a difference!

Tags: ,

One response to “Spread the Word to End the Word: A Powerful Message from YLC Member, Andre Williams”

  1. Zach Curtis says :

    Your are awesome Andre

Leave a Reply

Songwriting Tips for the Amateur to Professional

A blog by teacher, clinician, and multi-platinum recorded songwriter Andrea Stolpe

The World of Special Olympics

The sun never sets on our Special Olympics Movement. See what's happening now...

