Growing Your Friendships Outside Of Structured Chapter Activities

Hi everybody!

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the amazing friendships I have with my best buddy, and with all of the friends I’ve made through Best Buddies. I want others to share in this amazing and rewarding experience , so I figured I’d share some advice for all the buddy pairs out there!

In the five years I’ve been a part of Best Buddies, I’ve learned that to truly get to know someone and become close, simply attending chapter events isn’t enough! While the activities and events that your chapter leaders plan and host are AWESOME and really fun, it’s best to get to know your buddy in a more personal and intimate way.

2012-02-16 10.47.09

Erick and I, hanging out at Disneyland

Erick, my buddy from high school, enjoyed going to the movies, so we did that, regularly. As friends, we also enjoyed going out to eat, getting ice cream, walking around the mall, going on coffee runs, and lots more. These small activities may not seem significant, but are an important part of the foundation on which our friendship is built upon — although we no longer live near each other, we are buddies for life! I encourage you to try similar day-to-day activities with your buddy!

It can be difficult coordinating schedules and finding activities you both like, but I assure you that once you finally get out there and do something together, you’ll have an incredible time!

What are some of the fun things that you and your buddy like to do? What are some of the challenges you’ve encountered while planning to hang out with your buddy?

Leave me a comment with your answers, and suggestions. Looking forward to seeing some of the one-on-one activities that you’ve tried out!

In friendship,

Connor

Tags: , ,

About ConnorRegan

Hi there! I'm Connor, I'm a member of Best Buddies International's Young Leaders Council, and I go to school at Northwestern University in Chicago! Follow me on Twitter @ConnorRegan!

2 responses to “Growing Your Friendships Outside Of Structured Chapter Activities”

  1. finding says :

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the
    blog. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    • caitlintran says :

      Hi there! Pictures are loading perfectly for me and I’ve checked on some other computers of mine and those seem to be good, too. I’m not exactly sure why things aren’t showing up nicely for you, but I’d love to email you the posts in question with the pictures attached if you’d like to view them. Thanks for reading and for bringing up your problem to us!

Leave a Reply

Songwriting Tips for the Amateur to Professional

A blog by teacher, clinician, and multi-platinum recorded songwriter Andrea Stolpe

The World of Special Olympics

The sun never sets on our Special Olympics Movement. See what's happening now...

